CBSE Syllabus

CBSE Syllabus For Class 8 Maths: Detailed CBSE Class 8 Syllabus For Mathematics

CBSE Syllabus For Class 8 Maths: Detailed CBSE Class 8 Syllabus For Mathematics

CBSE Syllabus For Class 8 Maths: The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) is one of the largest boards in India which is responsible for secondary and senior secondary education in schools affiliated to the board. It is a national-level board that conducts the Class 10 and Class 12 board exams every year for the students of these schools.

Apart from that, CBSE is also responsible to monitor and maintain the quality of education in these schools, from Class 1 to Class 12. The annual exams, however, are conducted by the respective schools and not by CBSE. But all schools affiliated to CBSE follows the NCERT curriculum as recommended by CBSE. Most of the state board syllabus too are based on the CBSE syllabus for the respective classes. Even various competitive exams in India are based on the CBSE syllabus. Therefore, it is very important for students to have a clear knowledge of CBSE syllabus.

In this article, we will provide you with CBSE syllabus for Class 8 Maths.

Detailed CBSE Syllabus For Class 8 Maths

Students of Class 8 should be serious in their studies. This is because it is the time to lay a strong foundation and develop a strong command over the basics. All concepts in the CBSE syllabi of all classes are related in some way or the other. So, if you do not have a proper understanding of the various concepts in CBSE syllabus of primary and upper primary level, you will face difficulty in understanding the various concepts in higher classes.

Maths, especially, needs more attention. Although it starts with simple addition and subtraction, gradually, the subject seems to become tougher. The truth is Maths need more analytical and critical thinking than the other subjects. But that doesn’t necessarily mean it is a tough nut to crack.

If you study this subject seriously right from the beginning, understand the basic concepts, and practice a sufficient number of questions, you will get used to the level of analytical and logical thinking this subject needs. And you won’t find it difficult when new concepts are introduced to you.

CBSE Syllabus for Class 8 Maths should also be thoroughly finished. The concepts of Class 9 and 10 Maths are very closely related to it. Also, it is important if you are planning to appear for various competitive exams like NTSE and Olympiads. You need to have proper knowledge of CBSE syllabus for Class 8 Maths. You need to master all the concepts in the syllabus.

So, let us now look into the detailed CBSE syllabus for Class 8 Maths.

CBSE Syllabus For Class 8 Maths

The different chapters included in the CBSE Syllabus for Class 8 Maths are tabulated below:


Name of Chapter

Chapter 1

Rational Numbers

Chapter 2

Linear Equations in One Variable

Chapter 3

Understanding Quadrilaterals

Chapter 4

Practical Geometry

Chapter 5

Data Handling

Chapter 6

Squares and Square Roots

Chapter 7

Cubes and Cube Roots

Chapter 8

Comparing Quantities

Chapter 9

Algebraic Expressions and Identities

Chapter 10

Visualizing Solid Shapes

Chapter 11


Chapter 12

Exponents and Powers

Chapter 13

Direct and Inverse Proportions

Chapter 14


Chapter 15

Introduction to Graphs

Chapter 16

Playing with Numbers

Preparation Tips For CBSE Class 8 Maths

To prepare well for CBSE Maths for Class 8, referring to the NCERT Maths textbook would be enough. Just make sure you understand the theory and logic behind every concept. Make notes of important points and formulas. Understand what they mean and memorize them by heart. And solve a sufficient number of questions from every concept you finish.

Login to School Connect Online for more practice and knowledge